Banded

Even though I’m still working through my pictures of the past Arctic season, I sometimes find the time to go outside to make some new pictures. This weekend had nice summer weather, so I took the chance to do some dragonflies with my new macro lens.

2012-09-08_haarlo_14009
Banded Darter

Banded Darters are probably the nicest species of darter we have in the Netherlands with their characteristic bands  over their wings. Most dragonfly portraits show a dragonfly sitting on a perch, either from the side or from above with the body in focus. With this picture I decided to take a different approach and use a very small DOF and focus on those bands. It gives a nice image with only little in focus, but it’s still clear what species is in the picture.

Arjen Drost

Arjen is a Polar ecologist, nature photographer and full time expedition guide on expedition cruise ships in both Polar regions. With his pictures and stories he likes to show the beauty of these very fragile and threatened places.

Submit a comment