Save the best for last!

Wolverine

They say you have to save the best for last. Well, Finnish wildlife definitely did for me. Last night (my last in a hide) started with blue skies, something we hadn’t had at all during the past week. I had put one of my camera’s with a wide-angle lens outside the hide, in the hope a bear would come close, so I could take some wide-angle shots of the bear in its habitat. After two hours in the hide the first bear of the evening did just what I hoped he would do. Well, almost. He walked a bit towards the camera and started feeding there. I hoped he would continue and walk past the hide, coming even closer to the camera, but unfortunately he didn’t. The next to make an appearance was Tatyana again, the mother with four cubs. At the other side of the lake again (the side I was yesterday), but this time nice along the lake, with some trees in the background. Made for some really nice pictures. A few bears later, I was just about to make a cup of tea, thinking it had been a really good trip, the only thing that was missing was a Wolverine. But hey, they’re so elusive and mystical, you can’t really expect to see one on your first…. Wait?!!?? What do I see there hopping through the field?? WOLVERINE!!! Okay, a little far away and without the possibility to take a picture, but it was still great to see one. I just continued making my cup of tea when I saw him again, right in front of my hide!! He stayed there for a few minutes, allowing me to take some pictures and even a short movie and then it was gone again. Needless to say my tea was cold when I was about to finish it…

After this the trip was complete, a few more bears showed up, Tatyana came passing by with her cubs, but to me the Wolverine was the definite highlight. Now it’s back home again and back to school tomorrow… A bit a different life again.

Arjen Drost

Arjen is a Polar ecologist, nature photographer and full time expedition guide on expedition cruise ships in both Polar regions. With his pictures and stories he likes to show the beauty of these very fragile and threatened places.

4 comments

  • Hey Arjen, congratulations with your successful trip. Great that you finally saw a wolverine as well. Nice picture!

    Like

  • Arjen, wat moet je daar genoten hebben. Speciaal dus de laatste nacht. Ik heb het allemaal van begin tot eind gevolgd, en heb met je meegenoten. Zelf heb ik ook een keer zo’n berenexcursie gedaan, ook veel Beren gezien maar nooit was daar een Veelvraat bij.
    Ook op andere trips door Scandinavië nooit de grootste marter gezien. Geweldige foto, heel impressief. En nogmaals bedankt dat je ons hebt laten meegenieten, op je blog en op Twitter.

    Like

Submit a comment