Patience

Beautiful Demoiselle - Calopteryx virgo

During the past winter I was thinking about several pictures I wanted to take this year. One of them was one of Beautiful Demoiselles with their habitat, forest streams. Yesterday I had the opportunity to work on those pictures. For this I was sitting in my underwear in the stream, close to a branch that was often used as a perch by these nice damselflies. Then the long wait began… Or as one of the people who was walking on the shore said “Jeesh, you really need patience for this kind of photography”. After some time one returned to the stick, so I could make this picture.

I really like this kind of photography, as it doesn’t only show the beauty of the insect, but it also tells something about its habitat. But it always turns out to be a really difficult kind of photography. I’m quite pleased with this result, I hope you like it as well.

Arjen Drost

Arjen is a Polar ecologist, nature photographer and full time expedition guide on expedition cruise ships in both Polar regions. With his pictures and stories he likes to show the beauty of these very fragile and threatened places.

Submit a comment