Something new

20160615_Arjen_Drost_8083.jpg
Sea butterfly

As a guide it’s nice to try something new. This year I decided to bring a small aquarium and a plankton net to Spitsbergen, to see and show what lives in the ocean. One of the things I hoped to show most was this Sea Butterfly. A winged snail that slowly flies through the upper layers of the sea. In this case I didn’t even need my net, I could just collect it with a small plastic jar.
And the red colour? I placed the aquarium on the red deck of the Noorderlicht. Room for improvement would be to bring a neutral coloured piece of cardboard to use as a background.

Arjen Drost

Arjen is a Polar ecologist, nature photographer and full time expedition guide on expedition cruise ships in both Polar regions. With his pictures and stories he likes to show the beauty of these very fragile and threatened places.

5 comments

Submit a comment