Group size

Little Auks at the colony

One thing I have tried several times already in previous years was capturing the size of those huge flocks of Little Auks flying around at their colonies. I guess we all know the BBC footage (often filmed on Spitsbergen by the way) of those big flocks flying overhead when a predator shows up. Really impressive, but somehow I never really managed to capture it on a picture. This year I tried it a little different. I focussed on the rocks in front of the colony with a wide-angle lens and waited for a group to fly by. Often it didn’t work. The group was either too smal, too high or not at the right place, but sometimes it worked out like I had in mind. And especially with the nice sky behind, this picture shows the story I wanted to tell.

Leave a Reply

