Looking back

An Adelie Penguin on the pack ice

The end of the year is usually the time to look back at the previous year, something I’ve also done on this blog the past years. This year however, it’s a bit different. I’m not home where I can use my archive, but I’m somewhere near (or even on) Antarctica, making new pictures every day. So no highlights of the previous year, but just this Adelie Penguin.

Ok, a little bit about the past year. The biggest change I made this year, was taking a year of unpaid leave from my teaching job in order to be able to guide more often. Since mid July, I’ve spent 3.5 months on ships in both Polar areas, guiding several trips looking for Polar Bears, whales, seals and penguins. This way I can share my passion for these areas with more people and I’m able to take more pictures as well, to share with all of you. Something different quite different from my teaching job, even though it still has to do with enthusiasm, transferring knowledge, nature and people.

And what about next year? Well, I’ve six more months to go in my sabbatical where I’ll guide many more trips, bringing me to Antarctica, Madeira, Lofoten and Spitsbergen. And after the next summer? I don’t know yet, maybe I’ll go back to teaching, though I must admit I start to like the life I’ve got now…

Leave a Reply

