Unexpected guest

By: Arjen Drost

Nov 24 2015

Tags: , , ,

Category: mammals, nature, Photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:600mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/1000 sec
Camera:
South American Fur Seal

After arriving in Ushuaia I decided to go for a short walk along the shores of the Beagle Channel and some lakes close to the coast. The main purpose was to be outside and stretch the legs a little (after spending around 18 hours in different planes the day before) and to try to take a few pictures of the birds I would see. I didn’t expect to find any mammals, but when I looked out over the bay, I saw some strange shape in the water that quickly disappeared… As it didn’t look like a fish, I was quite sure it had to get up to breathe again. It took a while, but when it resurfaced I saw small earlobes and I realised I was looking at a South American Fur Seal. Something I didn’t expect to see in the busy Ushuaia bay… But a welcome end of the first day none the less.

Leave a Reply

