Ecliptic!

By: Arjen Drost

Mar 20 2015

Tags: ,

Category: nature, Photography, Polar

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:600mm
ISO:125
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen

I don’t think I’ve ever been this happy with seeing the sun as I was this morning when I came out of my tent (at -19C…). It was really cold, but it was sunny! Hardly any cloud in the sky. So we quickly packed our things and took a taxi into Adventdalen. We had to wait a bit, and then a very small bit was taken away from the sun. Over the next hour more and more disappeared until it became quite dark. Venus was visible, no Aurora borealis (what everybody secretly had hoped for) and of course the corona; the outer layer of the sun that is normally not visible. The totality lasted for 2.5 minutes which was way too short to take all the pictures I wanted to take and enjoy this really special sight. So after I had a good look around to enjoy this, I mainly focussed on my big lens for close-ups and just had too little time for some scenic shots. After 2.5 minutes the sun reappeared again and an hour later it was all back to normal. Leaving behind many exhilarated spectators behind… More to come when I’m back home and had time to properly edit the images.

Leave a Reply

