Like in the old days

By: Arjen Drost

Aug 16 2013

Tags: , ,

Category: mammals, nature, Photography, Polar

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:600mm
ISO:320
Shutter:1/1600 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark IV
Fin Whales

Last week I felt a little how it must have been when William Barentsz discovered the archipelago. I went out for a small walk, hoping to take some pictures of Fulmar when I suddenly saw several whale blows popping out of the water in front of me. Even though I knew there had been several whale sightings at the entrance of the fjord it was not something I expected to see. When I took out my binoculars it turned out there were several groups of Fin Whales all around me, I counted at least 10 different individuals (though counting whales is always very complicated). They were too far away to take proper pictures of the whales themselves, but the spouts stood out clearly against the mountains with the light from the side. Great to see those creatures to return again after hundreds of years of whaling. Hopefully the Bowheads will return as well some day…

Leave a Reply

