Attack!!

By: Arjen Drost

Oct 18 2012

Tags: ,

Category: mammals, nature, Photography

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark IV
Bat in flight

When I drove home from work today, I almost got hit by something airborne. I quickly turned around and stopped my bike to see what it was. It turned out a bat was hunting for insects next to a building. And there was still light enough for pictures!! So I quickly drove home, grabbed my camera bag and returned to the same building. It turned out two individuals were hunting in two different places. It was really hard to follow them in the viewfinder. One followed more or less the same pattern all the time, so it was a bit predictable where he would show up. I found a place where I could see him coming against the sky and shot over 500 pictures. A lot of them just showed the sky, others a very blurred bat and some even a bat in focus. It’s great fun to work with these flying acrobats and I’m sure I’ll go back to the same place and try again another time!

One comment on “Attack!!”

  1. It’s simply amazing you caught this one! Great job!


Leave a Reply

