Chaos

By: Arjen Drost

Dec 18 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: nature, Photography, Scenery

1 Comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:155mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Trees near the Drentsche Aa

Yesterday I gave a landscape photography workshop in the valley of the Drentsche Aa. This is one of the most natural river valleys in the Netherlands and had a range of different habitat types. So it’s a great place for landscape photography. Towards the end of the workshop I saw this band of light in the skies with those branches tangled in front of it. I decided to stop and to explain what picture I saw in this scene. It turned out to be harder as I thought when I stopped. In the end I’m happy with the result. I cropped part of the sky and the foreground to emphasize the shapes of the tree. In Aperture I darkened the sky a little, to increase the contrast between the light and the clouds and make the image more threatening. I wonder what the participants of the workshop made of this shot.

One comment on “Chaos”

  1. I like it very much. This scene bears a striking resemblance to the farmland where I grew up.


Leave a Reply

