Finally

By: Arjen Drost

Oct 18 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Birds, nature, Photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:600mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/1000 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Great Skua

In the 11 summers I spent on Spitsbergen I managed to capture almost all regular birds on camera. One of the few I don’t have properly is the Great Skua. So far I’ve only managed to get some distant pictures. Last sunday, on Schiermonnikoog, after we spent some hours on a dune looking for Rough-legged Buzzards, we walked back along the shoreline. Suddenly Leon said: “Great Skua!!”, and pointed at a brown bird just out at sea. I quickly pointed my camera and managed to get a few shots before it was gone. This is my first one and for now my best Great Skua picture. Just out of reach he started to attack some Greater Black-backed Gulls, but he didn’t manage to steal any food.

Leave a Reply

