The great North

the Pack Ice

This thursday it’s time again, time for me to fly north and start my Arctic season. First a week on the campsite, relaxing and photographing (I’ve got some nice ideas in my head) and then 16 days working as an expedition leader on the Noorderlicht, the sailing vessel I sailed on last year. A nice month ahead for me I hope. During the fist week I’ll be able to post some new blog posts (and twitter a bit), the 16 days after I won’t have any form of modern communication. But when I come back, I hope to have heaps of new pictures and stories to keep you busy for a while.

For people who are interested in visiting Spitsbergen one day, I’ve given my Spitsbergen pages a nice update and I invite you all to have a look.

One of my reasons I like to show pictures of the Polar regions is to show its beauty and vulnerability to the public. The same is true for many other polar photographers. One of them, in my opinion the best polar photographer of this moment, is Paul Nicklen. Here you can see a short lecture of him, telling passionately about the Arctic and the Antarctic and the effects of climate change on its ecosystems. Definitely worth watching!

Arjen Drost

Arjen is a Polar ecologist, nature photographer and full time expedition guide on expedition cruise ships in both Polar regions. With his pictures and stories he likes to show the beauty of these very fragile and threatened places.

4 comments

Submit a comment