Wood chicken

By: Arjen Drost

May 03 2011

Tags: ,

Category: Birds, Photography, Photography trip, Polar, spring

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:380mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Male Capercaillie at sunrise

I just returned from my first night in a hide. It was easy enough. At 10pm I heard the heavy wingbeats of a male Capercaillie. When I looked out, I saw it sitting in a tree near me. It started singing a bit, but it was too dark to take pictures or film. When I woke up the next morning at 2:30 AM he was still sitting there, softly singing. Around 4 AM there was enough light for some first pictures and film. Unfortunately it flew off a little later. Apparently it was waiting for some females that didn’t show up… Poor guy….

Now up for a short daytime visit to a bear hide, to see if the Raven are still there. And then my first night there….

Leave a Reply

