New dragonfly season

By: Arjen Drost

Mar 12 2011

Tags: ,

Category: Dragonflies, spring, the Netherlands

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/10
Focal Length:180mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Mercury Bluet: soon to come?

Today I attended the Dutch Dragonfly day organized by the NVL in Zwolle. Always nice, listening to talks about and pictures of dragonflies from the Netherlands and abroad and making plans for the coming season. About a month and the first new ones will fly around and I hope I can show you some nice pictures of them again. I’ve got several plans, searching for Mercury Bluets in the eastern parts of the Netherlands or visiting them in Germany for instance. For the other plans you’ll have to wait until I’ve got the results. Today I did see my first butterfly of the season, a Brimstone. Unfortunately it was gone when I came back with my camera…

On a completely different note: if you live in the (eastern part of) the Netherlands and are bored tomorrow (Sunday 13 March): I’ll be giving a lecture “10 Arctic summers” at 14:30 in de Huve in Eibergen. Hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

