Far ahead plans

By: Arjen Drost

Jan 13 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Photography, Polar

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/11
Focal Length:22mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 350D DIGITAL

Birdcanyon on Barentsøya

Sometimes it’s nice to look way ahead. Yesterday I received an e-mail from Maarten Loonen, my old supervisor during my study, if I would be interested in joining a Dutch scientific expedition to Edgeøya, Spitsbergen in the summer of 2012. It will be a large expedition with 100 Dutch people to the island of Edgeøya, in south-eastern Spitsbergen. There will be 25 scientists, 25 students, 25 artists and 25 guides, I could qualify for 3 out of those 4 categories (I can’t really be a student anymore…). For now I’m on the list as a photographer, but I’m sure I’ll be guiding a little and helping out with some scientific research as well…. And for myself? I’ll start thinking about a nice scientific theme for a movie… In 16 days with that many top scientists in such a beautiful area there should be something possible… More about this expedition can be found here (in Dutch only, I’m afraid).

Leave a Reply

