Looking back at 2010, part I

By: Arjen Drost

Dec 12 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: mammals, Photography trip, Polar

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/10
Focal Length:420mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Muskoxen in Dovrefjell

It’s the end of the year, so time to look back to the past year. What were the highlights of this year? Of course you could read all of this in the posts of the past year, but what were my personal highlights? I’ll tell you in the next posts.

The first highlight was the winter trip to Dovrefjell, Norway, searching for Muskoxen. The first time I went on a trip specific for photography and also the first time I went winter camping in Scandinavia. Together with Ingvar we spent the first days searching for them. After the first night, at -30°C, we found a few at a large distance. Two days later we had them really up close. In winter they are not the most active animals, so it turned out to be quite hard to make nice pictures or especially movies. However these animals keep on fascinating me, the way they manage to survive in this harsh climate since the last ice age. So it was really nice to spent some time with them and I loved camping out in the snow (despite my cross country skills were less good as I hoped…).

I don’t know when or where, but I’m looking forward already to my next winter camping trip.

More pictures and the full trip report can be found here.

Leave a Reply

