Sinterklaaspresent, the year after

By: Arjen Drost

Dec 04 2010

Tags: ,

Category: equipment, Photography, Scenery, the Netherlands, winter

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:70mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Farmland in wintertime.

Last year I wrote about the Dutch custom of giving each other presents on December 5th, when we celebrate Sinterklaas (the saint (Saint Nicholas) after which Santa Claus was shaped). Last year I received half a 5DmkII, the camera where I’ve shot with almost a year now. This year I was my own Sinterklaas. Yesterday I bought the new Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM (yeah, I know, a whole mouth full). Today was the first day I could really practice. What a great lens! It’s really nice to have a zoom again, so I can use different focal lengths without having to switch lenses. The new IS is really stunning and quiet (important while filming) and the AF really fast.

We practiced a little in the Achterhoek, in the eastern part of the Netherlands. Winter has come early this year with snow and sub-zero temperatures already early in December. This resulted in a nice white landscape, with some trees standing and snow drifting. Not such a bad way to practice with a new lens…

Leave a Reply

