Space

By: Arjen Drost

Sep 26 2010

Tags:

Category: autumn, Macro, Photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/10
Focal Length:180mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/2 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Creating your own style

Today another two workshops, this time in the National Park the Dwingelderveld. One of the items we cover is how to make your own style. In my opinion the best compliment I can get is that someone recognizes my picture as being one of mine, before he or she sees my name under it. But how do you get your own style?

Of course by doing things your own way. There are a lot of “rules” in photography, but the best way of creating your own style is ignoring those rules and do things you see best. To discover what you like in a picture it can be very useful to look at many pictures of other photographers. Of the real pro’s, but also of other novice photographers. Not with the intention to copy an existing picture (the copy is almost always worse as the original), but to look at why do you like a specific picture. What makes the picture attractive? The exposure? The composition? The light on the subject? If you know the aspect of the picture that you like, you can try to use that in your own pictures, combined with other aspects from other pictures. That way you create your own style.

In my case I always like to have some space in my pictures. If possible I’ll place my subject in one corner and have a lot of free space in the rest of the picture. I think most people would have made a portrait picture in this case (cutting away the empty right half of the picture), but I like those empty spaces….

Leave a Reply

