Finally!

By: Arjen Drost

Jun 01 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Dragonflies, insects, Macro

3 Comments

Aperture:f/10
Focal Length:180mm
ISO:2000
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

emerging damselflies

Since I started looking at dragonflies, I always wanted to see emerging ones. Dragonflies spent most of their life underwater where they are fierce predators. After some time (in some species months, other species years) they leave the water, crawl up some plants (sometimes a few meters away from the water) and break out of their larval skin. I’ve always been amazed that such a beautiful animal can come from such an ugly (though well adapted) larvae.

In this picture you see a freshly emerged Azure Bluet above her excuviae.

ps. my 100th post in my blog!! I hope you like the stories and I can keep this pace up!

3 comments on “Finally!”

  1. Looking at the shooting data, I was shocked that picture was taken at 2000 ISO. Ah, the powers of the 5DII, right?

    Awesome photo of a rare moment.

  2. Thanks for the comment. The iso 2000 was not really intentional. For macro I use live view a lot and I shoot a lot of movies with it. In movie-mode you’ve got auto iso, so sometimes I still have auto iso while taking pictures too…
    But as you can see, without disastrous consequences.


Leave a Reply

