No beaver

By: Arjen Drost

Feb 15 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Birds, mammals

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:420mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

just a Robin

Somewhere last week I heard rumors of a Beaver somewhere near my house. I thought maybe it’s seen once, but yesterday I suddenly saw pictures on Nederpix of a really nice posing Beaver. So today I went out in search for it. After riding my bike for a while, I found two photographers with large lenses looking at something. I stopped and carefully placed my bike somewhere. Behind some cars I had a look, but didn’t see anything.  Coming closer I realized there was no Beaver in sight, just a Wren nicely posing for the camera’s. Behind it was a slide obviously used by the Beaver. Some of the branches were clearly chewed on, also a sign of his presence. However, no sign of the beast itself… Talking to the photographers I learned that I was at the place where he was seen regularly yesterday. But no sign today. In the meantime we walked around a little and amused ourselves with this Robin, which was not shy at all…

After two hours I decided to call it a day and try again at a later time. There’s a lot of ice everywhere at the moment, so it’ll be quite difficult for the Beaver to surface somewhere. But with Beavers also living in Eastern and Northern Europe, I’m sure he’ll know how to handle himself in these circumstances. He (or she) most likely originates from the reintroduction program in a lake nearby.

Hopefully I’ve got a bit more time later this week, or otherwise I’ll try again when I’m back from Norway… Speaking about Norway, one thing I learned today is that I need thicker socks and an extra pair of thin gloves🙂

BTW: yesterday I’ve downloaded a trial version of Aperture 3. Not that I’m not satisfied with Lightroom, but Aperture seems to be more integrated with other Apple software. This is the first picture I edited with Aperture. I have to get used the the new shortcuts and such, but it also seems to be a very nice and intuitive program. More on that later.

Leave a Reply

