One species, two photos

By: Arjen Drost

Jan 25 2010

Tags:

Category: Macro

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:19mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/50 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Maritime Sunburst Lichen up close

Today we finally had some sunshine again! It was very cold, but the good weather made me go out anyhow. I went to the Stadspark in preparation for a school excursion tomorrow. Hardly any life could be found, but my eye fell on some Maritime Sunburst Lichen. This made me think about how to capture this lichen in different ways.

The obvious way of course was to take my macro lens and make a close up. Not too large aperture so you have a reasonable depth of field, but not too small, so the background is blurred. I picked f/18 for this reason. When I continued walking, I kept an eye out for the same lichen, so I could portray it also in a different way. When I found this tree, I knew I had found my different setting. I took out my wide-angle lens and tried to come as close as possible. This way I only had the bark of the tree in view and would take a picture of the pattern of the bark with the different lichens on it. Unfortunately the light was getting low, so I was a bit limited in my aperture so I couldn’t get the depth of view I would really like, but I think the picture still looks nice.

Just an example of how different lenses need a different approach and result in different pictures of the same species.

Leave a Reply

